CHESHIRE EAST COUNCIL

Minutes of a meeting of the Local Authority School Governor Appointments Panel

held on Friday, 15th April, 2011 in The Capesthorne Room - Town Hall, Macclesfield SK10 1DX

PRESENT

Councillor D Thompson (Chairman) Councillor G Merry (Vice-Chairman)

Councillors B H Dykes, T Jackson and M A Martin

IN ATTENDANCE

Ruth Agnew Principal Officer (Children and Family Services)

Carol Jones Democratic Services Officer

APOLOGIES

Councillors H Gaddum and S Jones

27 **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST**

Members were invited to declare any personal and/or prejudicial interest in any item on the agenda. Declarations of interest were made, as appropriate, during discussion of the item of business in which there was an interest.

28 PUBLIC SPEAKING TIME/OPEN SESSION

In accordance with Procedure Rules 11 and 35, a total of 10 minutes was allocated for members of the public to address the Panel on any matter relevant to its work.

There were no members of the public in attendance and the Panel, therefore, proceeded to its next business.

29 MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING

RESOLVED: That the Minutes of the Meeting held on 4 February 2011 be approved as a correct record.

30 EXCLUSION OF PRESS AND PUBLIC

RESOLVED: That the public and press be excluded from the meeting during consideration of the following item, pursuant to Section 100(A)4 of

the Local Government Act 1972 on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in Paragraph 1 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A of The Local Government Act 1972 and the public interest would not be served in publishing the information.

31 PROCEDURE FOR MAKING APPOINTMENTS

At its meeting held on 1 December 2010, the Panel had approved a revised procedure for making appointments to educational establishments. The Panel's recommendations had been considered by the Constitution Committee at its meeting held on 24 March 2011.

The resolution of the Committee was read to the meeting and noted by Members –

Resolution of the Constitution Committee – 24 March 2011

"That the revised procedure for the appointment of Authority Governors to school governing bodies in Cheshire East as set out in Annexe A to the report be approved subject to the following amendments:

- where there are two or more competing nominations for a vacancy at a primary school and one nominee is a local ward member for the ward in which the school is situated, the local ward member shall be appointed;
- 2. where there are two or more competing nominations for a vacancy at a secondary school and one nominee is a local ward member for a ward served by the secondary school, the local ward member shall be appointed:
- 3. where there are two or more nominations of local ward members in either case above, those members shall decide among themselves which one of them shall be appointed; in the event that agreement cannot be reached, all such nominations shall be considered equally alongside any others against the agreed criteria; and
- 4. nominations by local ward members where they themselves are not the nominee shall be considered equally with other nominations against the agreed criteria."

A copy of the revised procedure would be submitted for information to the next meeting.

32 LOCAL AUTHORITY APPOINTMENTS TO SCHOOL GOVERNING BODIES

The report of the Director of Children and Family Services informed the Local Authority School Governor Appointments Panel of vacancies within Cheshire East maintained schools, in the context of vacancies at national

level and recommended individuals for appointment and re-appointment to identified posts.

Additional information was tabled at the meeting in respect of new appointments and some re-appointments where the term of office had either already ended or was due to end before the next meeting of the Panel.

RESOLVED:

- (a) That the following appointments be made for a four year term of office with effect from 16 April 2011:
 - (1) HERMITAGE PRIMARY SCHOOL Peter Cresswell
 - (2) HUNGERFORD PRIMARY SCHOOL Stephen Turnbull
- (3) GOOSTREY PRIMARY SCHOOL Joanne Davies
- (4) MOSSLEY CE PRIMARY SCHOOL To be confirmed
- (5) ST GREGORY'S CATHOLIC PRIMARY Councillor Bill Livesley
- (6) VINE TREE PRIMARY SCHOOL Megan Robertson
- (7) BOLLINBROOK CE PRIMARY SCHOOL Angus Tennant
- (8) GAWSWORTH PRIMARY SCHOOL Steven Bottoms
- (9) NETHER ALDER PRIMARY SCHOOL Wendy Simpson
- (b) That the appointment of the nominee to Mossley CE Primary School , as detailed in the report, (Item (4) above) be subject to further discussion with the Schools Liaison Manager in respect of her capacity to commit sufficient time to the role, the outcome to be reported to the next meeting;
- (c) That the following re-appointments be made for a four-year term of office from the 16 April 2011 unless otherwise indicated:
- (10) DEAN OAKS PRIMARY SCHOOL Patrick Tyrrell

- (11) UPTON PRIORY SCHOOL Councillor Martin Hardy
- (12) WISTASTON CHURCH LANE PRIMARY SCHOOL Caroline Russett
- (13) DEAN VALLEY COMMUNITY PRIMARY SCHOOL Myra Wakefield 21 June 2011
- (14) EATON BANK SCHOOL
 Elizabeth Osbaldestin 1 August 2011
- (15) HOLMES CHAPEL COMPREHENSIVE SCHOOL Michael Oliver 14 June 2011
- (d) That the appointment of a governor to Tytherington High School be deferred pending enquiries of the school in respect of the attendance record of the incumbent; and
- (e) That the Principal Officer (Services for Children and Families) liaise with the Chairman in respect of this appointment.
- Notes: (a) Councillor B H Dykes declared a personal interest in item (2) above on the basis that he was acquainted with the nominee;
- (b) Councillors B H Dykes, G Merry, T Jackson, M A Martin and D Thompson each declared a personal interest in item (5) on the basis that Councillor Livesley was a Councillor colleague; and
- (c) Councillor D Thompson declared a personal interest in item 13 on the basis that she was acquainted with the nominee.

The meeting commenced at 10.30 am and concluded at 11.15 am

Councillor D Thompson (Chairman)